Thursday, April 17, 2014

Video: Chet Faker - 1998

Melbourne-based singer/producer Nick Murphy, a.k.a. Chet Faker, has shared a really cool animated video for his second single “1998″, taken from his recently released debut album “Built On Glass”. In case you missed it, you can watch the video of his previous single “Talk Is Cheap” here. "Built On Glass" is out now via Future Classic/Downtown Records. Video directed by Domenico Bartolo.

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Alpines - No Other Lover

Electronic outfit Alpines have now revealed the smooth and infectious ‘No Other Lover’, which is out on May 26 via Untrue Records and available for free download upon purchase of the album.

Following on from the bass-led single ‘Oasis’, Alpines infuse a higher tempo and four-to-the-floor rhythm on ‘No Other Lover’ and you can stream it above.

In case you missed it, you can stream the album title track ‘Oasis’ here and watch the official video here.

David Douglas - Selene

David Douglas is back to announce his upcoming Moon Observations LP by sharing lively album cut "Selene." Composed as an "ode to all moon observers in time," the Moon Observations LP is set to drop via Appelscal's Atomnation label on May 22. The track is available for free download here.

Video: Luke Vibert - Acage

Here's the video for "Acage", a standout track from Luke Vibert's acid-laced Ridmik LP (recenlty released via Hypercolour). Vibert's new clip can be watched in full below.

Kid Smpl - Silo Tear

Seattle-based producer Kid Smpl caught our ears in 2012 with his intricate, free-flowing layering of melancholic sound textures. With a sonic vision already fully formed early on in his career, the producer continues to add to his template on his new release for Hush Hush.

The Silo Tear EP is arguably Kid Smpl's most palpable effort yet. Apparent on the title track, the producer weaves in more abrasive rhythmical and textural elements than what we've heard from him thus far. Washes of noise add to the dramatic feel introduced by somber synths and sorrowful vocal samples, drawing connections to the work of Burial just as they to do that of fellow NYC Academy grad Evian Christ. Do yourself a favour and listen to this now. Silo Tear is out on May 5 via Hush Hush.

Video: Com Truise - Subsonic

Synth wizard Seth Haley, a.k.a. Com Truise has shared a sci-fi inspired video for his equally spacey "Subsonic" single, taken from his recent Wave-1 EP on Ghostly. Directed by Hans Lo.

"Everyone's favorite robotic astronaut continues his journey into the furthest reaches of space."

Four Tet - TEXT New Releases

Kieren Hebden, a.k.a. Four Tet has announced three upcoming releases on his Text imprint, including a pair of 12"s from his own Percussions moniker. The third release is a 12" from a mysterious producer named Taraval, whose Streetways EP will reportedly be released on the same day as the two Percussions releases (around April 28). As for the Percussions 12"s, they are titled "KHLHI" b/w "Sext" and "Ascii Bot" b/w "Blatant Water Cannon." Check out the latter track, in the player above.

Blonde - Foolish feat. Ryan Ashley

BLONDE are Adam Englefield and Jacob Manson. Two young Bristolians who met over the internet via Adam's Youtube Channel "Eton Messy" and have been making sweet music ever since.

After all of their success remixing the classics that inspired them, they have been working hard in the studio with some very talented artists on their own forthcoming album.

‘Foolish’ is the first track they have revealed from their first EP. A sweet, deep jam it features vocals from PMR Records signed R&B vocalist Ryan Ashley. Fittingly the EP will be released on Eton Messy Records. ‘Foolish’ is the second release by the Eton Messy label, a natural extension, the first release being a track from Ribs AKA Jack from Clean Bandit.

EP –
Single -

Factory Floor - How You Say (EP 1) [2014]

How You Say’ is the latest single from Factory Floor's Self-Titled LP. This is the first of two EPs releasing this month and contains a wide and wonderful selection of remixes.

This first EP contains new versions from Gunnar Haslam (L.I.E.S.) & Daniel Avery (Phantasy), who both released striking and acclaimed debut albums last year, as well as an assortment of heavily rotated 12” singles.

The EP also contains a remix from Invisible Conga People, which marks the return of this elusive act. They recorded a fan-fave 12” for DFA in 2011, and had not been heard from since until now.

Factory Floor are on tour over the next few months, full itinerary with ticket links below!

4/13: Indio, CA @ Coachella
4/15: Los Angeles, CA @ Echo
4/16: San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
4/17: Los Angeles, CA @ The El Rey *w/Mogwai, Majeure
4/20: Indio, CA @ Coachella
4/22: Montreal, QC @ Le Belmont
4/23: Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
4/24: Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall
4/26: Asheville, NC @ Moogfest
5/2: Liverpool, UK @ Liverpool Sound City
5/3: Manchester, UK @ Islington Mill
5/15: London, UK @ Oval Space
5/16: Birmingham, UK @ Hare + Hounds
5/17: Brighton, UK @ Coalition
7/18-7/20: Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Purchase high quality digital music at DFA Direct. Stay turned for preorder information for a limited edition 12" 3 pack featuring all of the remixes from this release.

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

London Grammar - Sights (Tourist Version)

“Sights” is the new single from London Grammar, taken off their debut album, If You Wait. The single is backed with an excellent atmospheric remix from London-based producer Tourist.

Daphni & Owen Pallett - Julia / Tiberius

Daphni, the dancefloor-oriented project of Dan Snaith a.k.a. Caribou, will release a new 12" that features a pair of collaborations with composer, violinist, and fellow Canadian Owen Pallett. Snaith claims that both songs, "Julia" and "Tiberius," have been a part of his DJ sets for a while and the record will reportedly appear on his own Jialong label next week. Check out "Julia" and "Tiberius," both of which are streaming in full above.

Lane 8 feat. Lucy Stone - Nothing You Can Say (Baio Remix)

Vampire Weekends bassist Chris Baio reworks San Francisco’s Daniel Goldstein, a.k.a. Lane 8, recent single "Nothing You Can Say" into a beautiful tropical jam, which can be stream in full above. The track features vocals from Philadelphia-based singer/songwriter Lucy Stone and appears on Lane 8′s “The One” Remixes EP, which is out now on Anjunadeep. The release also includes two remixes by the likes of Matt Lange, and Bhok.